March 20, 2008

  • a person's a person no matter how small.

     

     Just got back from watching "Horton Hears a Who" with my Bdubb- I must say, it was a faithful adaptation of the book by Dr. Seuss. He would be proud.

     

    the cutest poem I found written by Manny the Movie Guy

    On the eighth day of March, in downtown L.A. "Horton Hears a Who!" premiered for a day.

    The audience loved it, the stars were there!

    The movie about Horton, they all seemed to care.

    In the 1950s, Dr. Seuss wrote a book.

    About an elephant who carefully listens, not just looks.

    A lesson I remembered before I learned to crawl.

    A person's a person, no matter how small!

    Jim Carrey plays Horton, a pachyderm on a mission.

    His gentle, big heart, has a caring ambition.

    He wants to save the small people of Whoville.

    Living in a small speck of dust, what an upheaval!

    But no one believes, Horton they don't trust!

    That people can live in a small speck of dust!

    "Humpf!" says the kangaroo, a person on that?

    "Why, I can crush them, with one gentle swat."

    Steve Carrell voices the Mayor of Whoville.

    Horton must protect them from a kangaroo who's evil.

    That kangaroo is voiced by Carol Burnett.

    A performance so great, you may never forget.

    It's a movie adaptation by a studio named Fox.

    From a director named Jimmy, who came with big stocks.

    Great Disney films, Jimmy Hayward has animated.

    With "Horton Hears a Who!," his magic translated.

    I love this fun movie, I'm sure you'll agree.

    You'll cry, you'll laugh, and you'll clap with glee.

    The story is endearing, the animation is superb.

    As we all wondered over the Who Horton heard.

    This film will thrill the small person in you.

    A great message you'll get, you'll remember it too.

    No matter how tall, no matter how small.

    A person's a person, most important of all.

    My poetry is harsh, Dr. Seuss I am not.

    But he inspired me to try, so this is all I got.

    The movie is great, so please stop the hisses.

    I fondly give the film, three and a half kisses!